Vacuum required?

IFLOWATSEA

Question

I am new to vacuum bagging hand layup carbon fiber. I have watched many videos and successfully made some components. The question I have is how much vacuum to pull for a hand layup, 4 layers of 2x2 3K twill, epoxy resin. It is on a relatively flat surface 38 inches x 12 inches. Height above sea level is 800 ft and I can pull -28 inches with my pump. I am looking for max strength with max lightness, lightness taking preference. I have heard everything from max vacuum you can pull to -10 Hg. Is there an easy answer to this? Thanks Don

1 answer to this question

Don,

Great question.  The answer depends a bit on some of the hairy details but I'll give it a quick shot.  It wasn't clear if your layup technique is hand wet layup (dry fabric that you are manually wetting out with resin) or hand layup of prepreg (material that is already impregnated by resin and generally requires freezer storage).  The answer is the maximum vacuum that you can pull for both but for slightly different reasons:

If you're hand layup of prepreg, the amount of resin is already set as a part of the prepreg process (unless it's very high resin content in which case you may still squeeze some out at high vacuum). In this case you really just want to squeeze as hard as possible with vacuum.